Self-Protection Dot Com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Question for you

+4
Rob Mac
WhatThe...
Nick Hughes
Socrates
8 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Question for you Empty Question for you

Post  Socrates Wed May 14, 2008 3:10 am

Hi Nick.

I remember you writing once that you recommend that people get a black belt in one art at the beginning and then go and cross-train with other arts that fill in any missing gaps.

I was just wondering what attitude people should adopt for the secondary arts. Should we go in as a complete beginner and learn everything from scratch, even if it contradicts our core system? Or should you pick and choose the bits that you need?

Thanks!
Rupert
Socrates
Socrates

Number of posts : 1628
Registration date : 2006-08-15

Back to top Go down

Question for you Empty Re: Question for you

Post  Nick Hughes Wed May 14, 2008 6:49 am

I started over completely each time...put on a white belt, shut my gob and went through the system. Outside of class I'd be working out which bits complimented what I was already doing, which worked for my physiology and so on.

Some of every system/style isn't going to be applicable to everyone. It's like a seminar. Hock made the observation that at any point a percentage of the attendees aren't relating to what you're teaching. Styles will be the same...a particular throw, lock, kick etc won't work for you but will be perfect for another guy in the room.

As for which style to pick, I'd always go for one that taught something I was missing. I.e. if I was doing Judo I'd now be looking for something that taught me to strike and vice versa.

Good question by the way

Nick
Nick Hughes
Nick Hughes

Number of posts : 3119
Registration date : 2006-08-14

http://www.kravmagalkn.com

Back to top Go down

Post  Socrates Wed May 14, 2008 8:40 am

Thanks, Nick. Good answer... just what I needed!
Socrates
Socrates

Back to top Go down