Self-Protection Dot Com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Knives on the street, by Marcus

Go down

Knives on the street, by Marcus Empty Knives on the street, by Marcus

Post  Dennis M Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:08 pm

Guys, this thread is solid gold.....read it
Den

From Marcus:
Hi guys --

I'd like to tap the substantial street experience of you guys to help me out with a research point in my current book. While I've had some experiences with knives coming at me in the street, I'm a long way from that thing now and have been for years. I have a few questions that I hope you guys working front line will help me out with (Den, John Skillen, Juggababba, Romulus, etc. etc. etc.) The thing I find most valuable about this forum is the wealth of real world experience here -- and that's something I respect.

In terms of being attacked with a knife, we all know it doesn't take much training to hurt someone with a blade. I make a distinction between seeing that someone has training with a knife, and seeing someone who has experience using the knife on humans.

In your experiences, have you ever encountered an opponent who displayed any training (martial arts wise, etc.) with a knife?

Have you encountered someone who was experienced with using a knife in the real world on the street(used deception, set up, closed distance, etc.)?

Would you comment on your experience on identifying the difference? Would you handle the two differently?

Also, in terms of the knives you see on the street...have any of you seen a "tactical" knife used against you or your comrades? Or a martial arts type knife like a balisong? By tactical knife or martial arts knife I mean a purpose built fighting knife, as opposed to a Stanley knife or a kitchen knife or a pen knife.

What sort of blades have you encountered?

Have you ever seen a knifer using a fixed blade knife deployed from a sheath?