Self-Protection Dot Com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Filipino knife work

+6
frank
Jim Allen
malcolmk
rezbi
Dave Turton
Jagunco
10 posters

Go down

Filipino knife work Empty Filipino knife work

Post  Jagunco Tue Mar 13, 2007 4:48 pm

Hi Dave

I recently started a Doce Palmes Eskrima class. One reason being that I resovled to get some weapon training under my belt this year.

Because of what you menitoned in another thread I feel compeled to ask what you think of the knife work there in.

The instructor has omited to do any knife work and told me he would do so non for a good long while until he knows the student. I must admit this is responsable of him. Therefore I've been swinging a stick for a couple of months.

Anyway this is neither here nor there. In another thread you didn't sound incredably impressive with the knife work and I was curious to your reasoning.

Cheers and AXE
Jagunco
Jagunco
Jagunco

Number of posts : 1126
Registration date : 2006-08-28

Back to top Go down

Filipino knife work Empty Re: Filipino knife work

Post  Dave Turton Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:48 pm

I am afraid I will be guilty of repeating myself somewhat here mate..

From about 1967-68 I started realising the fundamental weakness in the traditional arts, or should I say in the ways in which these arts were taught. When that weakness was eliminated by a free-thinking instructor, the art developed valifity..

in karate I would say people like Terry O'Neil, Phil Milner and Steve Morris eliminated that weakness..

the problem I have with many indigenous combat arts is their emphasis on defending against themselves and not against 'modern (for each era)' street attacks.