Self-Protection Dot Com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ground work for MMA

2 posters

Go down

ground work for MMA Empty ground work for MMA

Post  Rob Mac Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:44 am

Hi Steve, I'm about to enter my first cage fight at 37 years young. Although I actually teach a couple of cage fighers stand-up, and have fought in full-contact kick-boxing I'm a relative novice on the ground. If you had the choice, which art would you chose? And if you only had the choice between bjj and judo which would you go for? Obviously it's tough because you could have a shite bjj club and a fantastic wrestling club or vis versa but I would still appreciate your views.
Also have you any tips for ground fighting, especially for someone like me ho doesn't want to be there! Cheers Rob
Rob Mac
Rob Mac

Number of posts : 1213
Registration date : 2006-08-23

Back to top Go down

ground work for MMA Empty Re: ground work for MMA

Post  steve morris Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:10 pm

Rob, as far as tips it's a difficult one without seeing you. But to win a fight from a stand-up, you have to either knock him out through offence, or counter-offence. The problem is, how do you do that without being taken down? And if you're taken down, how can you get into a position to strike, or get back to your feet where you can get back to trying to knock him out again.

So you have to run this in drilling. You need to get a couple of guys to act as dissimilar adversaries. You set it up so that every time you strike, he tries to take you down. You try to stay on your feet. And when he takes you down, you try to get back to your feet or to get in a dominant position for striking on the ground.