Self-Protection Dot Com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Board Breaking?

+2
PullupPastor
Dave Turton
6 posters

Go down

Board Breaking? Empty Board Breaking?

Post  Guest Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:33 am

Dave, I'm not a martial artist but I believe the typical board breaking demonstrations are frowned upon by serious fighters as not being a demonstration of much.

However, do you know of any techniques/types of equipment which are good for testing striking power?

It would be very handy to have a way of gauging one's progress, so I can see where board breaking arouse, I imagine. Afterall, unlike Bob Spour, we can't all afford a Richard Grannon doll to beat the living shit out of to test our skills!

Back to top Go down

Board Breaking? Empty Re: Board Breaking?

Post  Dave Turton Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:51 pm

I always felt tamashiwari (breaking) as a totally pointless exercise.. couldnt ever see any benefits in it

but for power just the heavy bag tells you everything... When Ali fought Forememan, Norman Mailer ( a great Boxing writer) went to see Foreman training.. he was swinging a heavy bag with a 220 lbs training partner hanging on it.. and making dents in the bag..

Focus mitts for focus
heavy bags for impact

its all you need

Dave Turton

Number of posts : 1381
Registration date : 2006-08-14

http://www.selfdefencefederation.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:42 pm

Thanks, Dave. I'll stick to slapping the heavy bag then. Smile

Back to top Go down

Post  PullupPastor Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:14 pm

Hi Dave i understand that breaking doesnt translate into the real world on a real man....

But does it give any positive attributes?? Im thinking of selfconfidence, focusing a strike etc?

Or is it - like knife throwing - for the time put in to get "good" at breaking - you could be doing something better?